495: PRACTICAL CHRISTIANITY #27: STABBED TEACHER FORGIVES ATTACKER

“A warm welcome to Zingcreed, the sort-of Christian blog that brings it all together.

I was particularly touched by one of this summer’s nastiest UK stories: the premeditated stabbing of a 50 year old teacher of African origin by a racist pupil of Pakistani origin in the English city of Bradford. When I worked as a supply (substitute) teacher in the London borough of Tower Hamlets a few years ago, a pupil of a different race to myself (I’m white) pulled a knife on me. It happened at mid-morning break in the corridor and I didn’t know who he was. He waved it at me, grinning and not saying anything and made no attempt to use it, (for which I would have thanked God, if I had believed in him.) The head agreed with me that it was a teenage act of bravado, and while he made enquiries, I just carried on teaching as if nothing had happened.

IMG_2468

Here is the story of how a teacher who was a committed Christian handled a real stabbing. It’s what I would call a real act of practical, forgiving Christianity, and I am full of admiration for him.

Peter Turner, M.A., M.Sc.”

The “low ability” pupil, who already had a criminal record, hated being told what to do by a black man, whom he called a N****r. He brought a kitchen knife into school on 11 June 2015, and when his teacher, Mr Vincent Uzomah, told him to put his iPhone away he got the knife out. He later went on facebook to boast he “put a knife in his tummy”. This got 69 “likes” from readers…..
This pre-planned racist attack left Mr Uzomah too traumatised to return to work. The boy got 11 years, meaning 3 in practice. Mr Uzomah gets frightened when he sees groups of Pakistani boys playing in the park in case one of them is this boy. When it happened, in the classroom, he was just praying, “God, don’t let me die.” He was thinking, “Is this my last hour? I didn’t say goodbye to my wife, my little kids.”

IMG_2476

After the trial in August, Vincent Uzomah said, “As a Christian, I have forgiven this boy who has inflicted this trauma and pain on me and my family.” He said he was praying to God that the boy “would realise that violence is no path to take and that He would help him rather to become a useful member of society.”

Leave a Reply

