92: CRIMES OF THE BOURGEOISIE #3 American Imperialism

“Zingcreed: thinking aloud about religion (and its context). A personal polemic by Peter Turner, M.A., M.Sc.”

Zingcreed is proud to present 3 little “nuggets” of gold , especially dedicated to those blinkered souls who prefer to believe that  such a phenomenon as yanqui Imperialism doesn’t exist.

“The basic challenge is that what is called globalisation is really another name for the dominant role of the United States.”
(Henry Kissinger, former US Secretary of State)

“The US has about 50% of the world’s wealth but only 6.3% of its population. This situation cannot fail to be the object of envy and resentment. Our real task…is to devise a pattern of relationships which will permit us to maintain this position of disparity without detriment to our national security.”
( George Kennan, US Department of State Policy Planning Study # 23 [1948])

“I spent 33 years and 4 months in active service in the country’s most agile military force, the Marines. I served in all ranks from second lieutenant to major general. And during this period I spent most of my time being a high-class muscle man for Big Business, for Wall Street and the bankers. In short I was a racketeer, a gangster for capitalism.
I suspected I was just part of a racket at the time. Now I am sure of it. Like all members of the military profession I never had an original thought until I left the service. My mental faculties remained in suspended animation while I obeyed the orders of the higher ups. This is typical with everyone in the military service.
Thus I helped make Mexico, and especially Tampico, safe for American oil interests in 1914. I helped make Haiti and Cuba a decent place for the National City Bank boys to collect revenue in. I helped in the raping of half-a-dozen Central American republics for the benefit of Wall St. The record of racketeering is long. I helped purify Nicaragua  for the international banking house of Brown Brothers and Co. in 1909-1912. I brought light to the Dominican Republic for the sugar interests in 1916.  I helped make Honduras ‘right’ for American fruit companies in 1903. In China in 1927 I helped see to it that Standard Oil went its way unmolested.
During those years, I had, as the boys in the back room would say, a swell racket. I was rewarded with honors, medals, and promotion. Looking back on it, I feel I might have given Al Capone a few hints. the best he could do was to operate a racket in 3 city districts. The Marines operated on 3 continents.”
(General Smedley Butler “Common Sense” November 1935)

Plus ça change….

Leave a Reply

